Discovering Parts Previously Unknown

Aygen James uses art to explore his own vulnerabilities and wants others to do the same

Model/actor/dancer and self-described “wannabe exhibitionist” Aygen James always had a knack for moving differently, breaking free from prescribed notions of movement and form. 

“My mom would always encourage me to try artistic endeavors and then even during workouts, I was always looking for something that broke the rules of traditional moves or repetition,” James says in an email interview. “It was after seriously giving modeling a try that I truly realized that my body is as free as my mind will allow it to be.”

James describes modeling as an opportunity to go deeper into his being to explore and better understand his vulnerabilities. Too often society confines all of us to presentations of self that aren’t completely honest, he notes.

“I find that I do my best work when I go with what I’m feeling and I’m able to go deeper within myself to discover parts of me that maybe I didn’t know I had,” he says. “I want people to be able to have that same honest conversation with themselves. I think we live lives where we are presented with masks, muzzles and other societal devices meant to hide and create a facade that isn’t really us. I think the art that I create, and art in general, aims for exploration of self. I want people to see my work and feel empowered to be vulnerable with themselves.”

Photo by Paul Campbell, Sliver Silver Photography (provided by Aygen James)

James’ work ranges from black-and-white moodier settings to bright and colorful glamourous stuff that doesn’t lack a palpable feel and depth. He also poses for more sensual work with others and more “conventional” fashion and nature photographs.

When selecting photographers to work with, James says he needs to see “art” (italics mine) in a photo to know that the person behind the lens is committed to creating something beyond disposable image.

“I think good taste is subjective, but from my view I have to see a photo and know that it is not a mockery or cheap but something serious, something deep, something that makes you see ‘art,’” he explains.

Photo by Brian Kelly (provided by Aygen James)

An important element to much of James’ work is nudity, something he says is “a representation of who we truly are.”

He explains: “We are born into this world naked and it is who we are when we come home, when we bathe, when we experience pleasure. I like to think of clothing as personality and accessory, but not necessity. So, to create art you must ultimately strip away the inessentials until the truth is revealed.”

Photo by Frank Martinez (provided by Aygen James)

James was born in Turkey but has lived most of his life in southern California. He credits his birthplace to providing him a wider perspective, while noting the diversity (for those who are willing to look for it) of the United States shouldn’t be discounted either.

“I think that being from Turkey has broadened my perspective on just how diverse and vast the arts can be,” he says.

James is an actor as well as a model and sees the environment in which he poses as akin to “the wardrobe of an actor or character.”

The setting “can be the basis or starting point for your creative juices or imagination,” he says. “When you’re in the city, how do you feel? How would you naturally be? In nature, same question. Each setting lends itself to a completely different vibe and mindset I think.”

Photo by Ryan Doerr (provided by Aygen James)

When it comes to self-portraiture, James describes his approach as iterative yet always progressing.

“I approach [self-portraits] like I do life; gradual — me in different points but not stuck. Not yearning to go backwards but onwards,” he says. “Each time I see a photo, I ask myself: ‘Where was I at this point in my life or the shoot?’”

These days James is primarily focused on pursuits other than modeling, but notes he’s not finished using his body to express himself.

“Right now, I’m keeping things low key and being a lot more selective as I pursue other endeavors, but I will always keep myself open to the right opportunities with the right people.”

Aygen James – Xpression Untold (aygenjamesxpress.com)

Leave a comment